30 April 2018 In Blog

The NJ legislature passed a mandatory paid sick leave law applicable to all employers set to take effect 180 days after it is executed by Governor Phil Murphy.  When the law is signed, New Jersey will become the tenth state to require some form of paid sick leave - attached is an overview of the paid sick leave in the other states.  Companies that operate in New Jersey should review their PTO and sick-leave policies to determine compliance with the provisions of the act.

Importantly, the law prohibits towns and cities from enacting ordinances regarding earned sick leave and preempts the previous municipal ordinances in existence prior to the law. Over the past few years, New Jersey local governments have been active on the issue of earned paid sick leave, leading to 13 municipalities to enacting their own laws.

These municipalities are: 1) Bloomfield; 2) East Orange; 3) Elizabeth; 4) Irvington; 5) Jersey City; 6) Montclair; 7) Morristown; 8) Newark; 9) New Brunswick; 10) Passaic; 11) Paterson; 12) Plainfield; and 13) Trenton.

The good news for employers is that the state law preempts all of these local ordinances so employers will need to comply only with the state law.

Contact us

For questions or more information, please contact us by phone or email.


Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.