07 May 2018 By

Last week New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed A1827 (New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act) into law. New Jersey now joins nine other states and the District of Columbia that have enacted paid sick leave to provide earned compensation for workers who miss work due to illness or needing to take care of a sick loved one.  The law allows workers to accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked, capped at a maximum of 40 hours each year.

Fortunately, the paid sick leave law does not take effect for 6 months, so you have time to figure out the impact on your company and how these benefits will operate with your current sick leave.

If you missed the first communication about this early last week, attached and below is information covering many details of the law.

NJ Paid Sick Leave

Paid Sick Leave by State

We will keep you apprised of additional information when it becomes available.  In the meantime, please let me know if you have any questions.
 
Barry E. Fields
Vice President, Employee Benefits

JGS I N S U R A N C E
Cell: 908-406-7000 | Fax: 732-834-0233
101 Crawfords Corner Road, Suite 1300, Holmdel, NJ 07733

30 April 2018 By

The NJ legislature passed a mandatory paid sick leave law applicable to all employers set to take effect 180 days after it is executed by Governor Phil Murphy.  When the law is signed, New Jersey will become the tenth state to require some form of paid sick leave - attached is an overview of the paid sick leave in the other states.  Companies that operate in New Jersey should review their PTO and sick-leave policies to determine compliance with the provisions of the act.

Importantly, the law prohibits towns and cities from enacting ordinances regarding earned sick leave and preempts the previous municipal ordinances in existence prior to the law. Over the past few years, New Jersey local governments have been active on the issue of earned paid sick leave, leading to 13 municipalities to enacting their own laws.

These municipalities are: 1) Bloomfield; 2) East Orange; 3) Elizabeth; 4) Irvington; 5) Jersey City; 6) Montclair; 7) Morristown; 8) Newark; 9) New Brunswick; 10) Passaic; 11) Paterson; 12) Plainfield; and 13) Trenton.

The good news for employers is that the state law preempts all of these local ordinances so employers will need to comply only with the state law.

26 February 2018 By

For prescription drug plans that renewed on January 1, 2018, the deadline for the on-line filing to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is February 28, 2018.  This deadline is within 60 days after the beginning date of the plan year.
Group health plan sponsors are required to disclose to CMS whether their prescription drug coverage is creditable or non-creditable.  In general, a group health plan’s prescription drug coverage is considered creditable if its actuarial value equals or exceeds the actuarial value of the Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage.

The disclosure must be made to CMS on an annual basis, and upon any change that affects whether the coverage is creditable. More specifically, the Medicare Part D disclosure notice must be provided within the following timeframes:

  *   Within 60 days after the beginning date of the plan year for which the entity is providing the disclosure to CMS;
  *   Within 30 days after the termination of a plan’s prescription drug coverage; and
  *   Within 30 days after any change in the plan’s creditable coverage status.

Plan sponsors are required to use the online disclosure form at
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Prescription-Drug-Coverage/CreditableCoverage/CCDisclosureForm.html

Please refer to the attached Legislative Brief for additional details and let me know if you have any questions.

23 January 2018 By

Impact of Tax Bill


The tax bill signed into law on December 22, 2017, eliminates the tax penalty for individuals who fail to maintain minimum essential coverage (MEC) as of January 1, 2019. Although this change will affect individuals who decline to enroll in health coverage, it does not eliminate employer reporting requirements. Some important considerations:

  *   The individual mandate penalties are still in force in 2018. Individuals who go without health coverage for 3 months or longer in 2018 will still have to pay a penalty (unless they qualify for an exception).
  *   The employer mandate still applies. Applicable large employers (ALEs) will continue to face penalties for failure to offer affordable coverage providing minimum value to their full-time employees.
  *   The section 6055 and 6056 reporting requirements continue to apply. Applicable large employers, employers of any size that provide self-funded and level-funded plans, and insurance carriers are still required to issue the applicable 1095 forms and file those forms with the IRS.

Contact us

For questions or more information, please contact us by phone or email.

AWARDS

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.